Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 27th, 2010

Packing is a amazing thing.

Packing is a amazing thing.

You get to determine which of your possessions is most important to you, and how much of them you want to carry. Trust me when I say that I have a ton of experience in this.

I have a trip coming up, and I have packed 90% of it in less then 20 minutes. And, none of it was the “important stuff” that defines ones life.

And, yes, I do have a few of those.

  • A 4″ tall container with squished pennies and poker chips and guitar picks. Just small mementos that can be carried easily. Tactile memories that only I have, and that are only valuable to me.
  • Photo album. Has only photos of recent friends and recent events, parties, and bashes.
  • A stack of autographed drum sticks and glow sticks.
  • A tiny Angel sitting on a prim.
  • A few tiny stuffed animals.
  • A random set of crystals and two fluorite carved turtles.

Add in a few books, and 200 movies and that is my life as measured by material possessions.

Thing is, about material things, everyone wants to leave something behind so those that are left with it will remember you. Everyone but me.

No one cares about your crap. It holds nothing special for them except that “Uncle John gave it to me.” They care about the memories you MADE with them. Not the memories you had making as you obtained your crap.

All my stuff is mine. I loved collecting them, I love looking at them, I love feeling them and remembering. When I am gone, it will all just be “stuff” to someone else, and most not worth a dime. But that is ok. Because it wasn’t meant for anyone else.

So, in everything you do… In everything you collect… Make sure you do it for YOUR enjoyment. And teach your heirs to find their enjoyment.

Read Full Post »